--- Sportstatistik / Sports Statistics:   Radsport / Cycling Sports    Fb

UCI - Union Cycliste Internationale

UCI1 UCI2 UCI3 On the initiative of the English National Cyclists' Union (NCU), the first international authority was founded on 23.11.1892 in London: International Cyclists Association (ICA). ICA's life was short. One reason for this was that the strong French association UVF was denied membership because, from the perspective of the NCU, it was an association of professional cyclists. The "strong man" of the ICA Secretary General Henry Sturmey rigorously advocated the British view of amateurism and the strict rejection of professional riders, which led to conflicts with less strict national associations. At the beginning of 1897, the ICA tightened the stipulation by declaring that it would consider any amateur starting against professional riders to be a professional too.
At the ICA congress in Paris on 14.04.1900, there was a scandal as a result of renewed inconsistencies regarding the distribution of votes (on the one hand the British Empire: Scotland, England and Ireland 3 votes each, plus Canada, Cape Colony, New Zealand and New South Wales 1 vote each = 13 votes, on the other hand all other member countries only 1 vote each) and the question of amateur status. Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, the USA, and France left the ICA and founded the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) on the same day. In June 1900, the Dutch, and the German association (DRB) also joined the UCI. Canada, New Zealand, and Denmark followed in August 1900. The NCU left the ICA on 31.03.1901. The ICA now consisted only of the Irish Cyclist Association and the Scottish Cyclist Union and still existed for a while - but in fact, the ICA was at the end.

Interestingly, a UCI had already been founded on 24.10.1896 in Paris by the Union Cycliste de France, the German Verband der Vereine für Radwettfahrten, the Bund Deutscher Radfahrer Österreichs and the Ligue Vélocipédique Belge. Léon Hamelle FRA became president and Paul Rousseau BEL secretary general. A key decision in the foundation was the mutual recognition of the records of the member associations and the organization of an open world championship in Paris in 1897. However, this UCI never really seems to have had a life.

Despite differing assessments of the amateur status and prize money, the NCU's accession (which had dominated the ICA) failed mainly due to the number of votes that the French-dominated UCI wanted to grant to the British associations. The NCU then wanted to find an Empire League and organize its own world championships. After the UCI received further growth through the accessions of Portugal, Spain, and Argentina in 1902, the NCU also joined in February 1903, followed by Australia in August 1903.
The UCI and its predecessor, the ICA, considered the conflict between professionals and amateurs determining separate world champions as early as 1894. In order to maintain the status of an Olympic sport, amateurs and professionals were strictly separated into two sub-federations at the congress in San Sebastian on 02.09.1965. The UCI was now an umbrella organization only. With the entry of professional athletes into the Olympic arenas not only the separation into amateur and professional riders became obsolete, the organization of separate world championships (track cycling from 1993 onwards, road cycling since 1995) was also abolished. At the congress on 26.08.1993 in Oslo, the sub-federations for amateur and professional cycling, which had existed for almost thirty years, were dissolved and the sole responsibility for cycling returned to the UCI.

Member associations
1892 ENG, FRA (not the cycling federation UVF, but the Union des Sociétés Françaises de Sports Athlétiques), GER (Deutscher Radfahrer Bund), NED, BEL, CAN
1897 USA, DEN, NED (2 associations), IRL, ITA, NOR, SCO, SWE, Cap Colony, SUI, New South Wales
1898 NZL
1900 BEL, FRA, ITA, SUI, USA (2 associations)
1912 23 national federations
1930 42 national federations
1960 72 national federations
1980 129 national federations
2000 165 national federations
2020 187 national federations


23.11.1892 - 08.09.1898 Frans Netscher NED
08.09.1898 - 1900 Erik Staal DEN
14.04.1900 - 23.01.1922 🕆 Emile de Beukelaer BEL
24.01. - 03.02.1922 Léon Breton FRA, acting
03.02.1922 - 06.02.1936 Léon Breton FRA
06.02.1936 - 04.02.1939 Max Bürgi SUI
04.02.1939 - 06.02.1947 Alban Collignon BEL
06.02.1947 - 20.10.1957 🕆 Achille Joinard FRA
21.10. - 29.11.1957 Adriano Rodoni ITA, acting
29.11.1957 - 27.11.1981 Adriano Rodoni ITA
27.11.1981 - 31.07.1990 🕆 Luis Puig ESP
31.07.1990 - 29.11.1991 Valeriy Sysoyev URS, acting
29.11.1991 - 22.09.2005 Hein Verbruggen NED
23.09.2005 - 27.09.2013 Pat McQaid IRL
27.09.2013 - 21.09.2017 Brian Cookson GBR
21.09.2017 - David Lappartient FRA
Presidents of Fédération Internationale Amateur de Cyclisme (FIAC)
03.09.1965 - 24.08.1981 Adriano Rodoni ITA
24.08.1981 - 22.08.1982 Luis Puig ESP
22.08.1982 - 26.08.1993 Valeriy Sysoyev URS
Presidents of Fédération Internationale des Cyclisme Professionnel (FICP)
03.09.1965 - 24.08.1977 Henri Hégésippe FRA
24.08.1977 - 14.08.1978 Arthur Campbell GBR
14.08.1978 - 02.08.1984 🕆 Josy Esch LUX
02. - 25.08.1984 Hein Verbruggen NED, acting
25.08. - 28.11.1984 José María Sentís ESP
28.11.1984 - 29.11.1991 Hein Verbruggen NED
29.11.1991 - 26.08.1993 Werner Göhner GER

Secretaries General

Honorary Secretary of ICA
23.11.1892 - 1901 Henry Sturmey ENG
14.04.1900 - 06.04.1901 Mario Bruzzone ITA
06.04.1901 - 21.05.1941 🕆 Paul Rousseau BEL
21.05.1941 - 09.02.1946 ---
10.02.1946 - 06.02.1947 Victor Breyer FRA
06.02.1947 - 28.11.1969 René Chesal FRA
28.11.1969 - 26.08.1993 Michał Jekiel POL
Since than appointed Directors General only
Secretaries General of Fédération Internationale Amateur de Cyclisme (FIAC)
03.09.1965 - 14.08.1969 René Chesal FRA
14.08.1969 - 24.08.1981 Giuliano Pacciarelli ITA
24.08.1981 - 26.08.1993 Carla Giuliani ITA
Secretaries General of Fédération Internationale des Cyclisme Professional (FICP)
03.09.1965 - ??? Camerlynck BEL
(1969) René Geltemeyer ???
14.08.1978 - 26.08.1993 Fernand Conter LUX

Last modified: 20.01.2022